August 5th/6th 2013

August 5, 2013….and it’s over, just like that. But to make it easier for me to take it all in, I keep reminding myself and my friends that this is a relocation of our ministry. You see, 4 ½ years living in Peru has flown by and it’s hard to believe we are now back stateside. But I also want to tell you that it’s not over. It’s just begun. We are still on the journey. Life; a journey, an adventure with Jesus.

For just one more time, let me take you back a little in time. We were introduced to missions in Peru in 2004. We knew of the call from the Lord to “go” and received a call from a pastor to “come” and in obedience and faith we did just that. We had absolutely no idea how long we would be living in San Juan de Lurigancho. We just knew that was where we were supposed to be and found many areas of service for our Lord, but focused on a few that were related to children and youth. We firmly believe they are the future church leaders, Sunday School teachers, cell group leaders, pastors and missionaries. We felt led to share the gospel, plant seeds, and encourage and support both the Peruvian Christians and the children and teenagers they ministered to as well. You know the rest of the story (if you have been on the journey with us). If you do not, check out: http://www.conduitsforchrist.wordpress.com/ to catch up with some life in Peru.

This past week was filled with many last experiences of this, that or the other thing with friends (at least they were the last in the year of 2013). All were meaningful and memorable. But Lord willing, they will not be the final opportunities we have to work with these dear Peruvians, or to worship with them, or to assist them. They are such a warm, loving, humble people group.

The plans of God for us come straight from the Word of God in Ephesians 2:10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them. We believe He has more for us to do and have a new vision to help the Peruvian Christians through AWANA Clubs, Basic Computers and Continuing Education.

August 6, 2013…..and now the beginning; the new phase of ministry. One of my favorite passages is found in Proverbs (3:5-6) Trust in the Lord with all my heart, lean not on my own understanding, in all my ways acknowledge Him and He will direct my paths. (I made that personal simply as a reminder one more time for myself.) The part I like is if I do as this passage indicates, He will direct my steps! First I must be obedient and He will guide me.

The Bible tells us that God our Father should come first in our lives, having priority over all other. We strive to give Him our best in all we do and say. We are to love the Lord our God with all our heart, soul and strength (this comes from Deuteronomy) and in Matthew we read this again. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. After that we give our love and attention to our family. It has been two days of visiting with the two youngest of our children and their families. Brunch both days never tasted so good! Seriously, having grandchildren snuggle and take turns sitting next to me (or Don) brings such joy. We are truly blessed. Don and I were able to connect with our accountability partners shortly after arrival. God has provided us each with faithful friends who pray for us, listen to us, encourage us, and even share words of guidance. Walking this journey with such good friends makes the difficult times a little easier. And our church family, Bridgeway, some of whom we have already chatted with, but more we will be able to see this Sunday, will help us begin anew.

We began this journey 4.5 years ago with the 9th verse of Proverbs 16 in mind and continue today while facing new challenges. In our hearts we plan our course, but the LORD establishes our steps. Please, pray for us.

2 responses »

  1. So glad your home and look forward to a lunch date soon. Wow what a journey of one I have enjoyed praying for. Can’t wait to see what the Lord has planned next.

    • Thanks Amy – friends are friends forever, if the Lord’s the Lord of them.
      We go back so many years (let’s not say how many) and you have always been there for me (us). We have shared so much of life’s journey. Thanks so much for taking this one with me, too. Lunch? Yes! I’d love that. We firmly believe relocating the ministry is what God showed us to do and we plan to keep busy serving Him and others. Chat soon.

Leave a comment